The church was probably built in the beginning of the 1200 by Esbern Snares daughter, Ingeborg.
The groundplan comes from Asia Minor and has the shape of a Greek Cross.
The position of the five towers is unique in the world.
The Gothic vestry was added about 1400. The centre tower, which fell down in 1827, was re-erected in 1870.
The font carries some motives of small palms that can also be seen on the base of the columns in Esbern's childhood church at Fjenneslev.